Highly Addicting Chocolate Mousse

About 2 weeks ago my friend, Z, said she had tried this new chocolate mousse recipe that was dairy free and she had some to share with me.  I love anything chocolate/dessert and if it is dairy free and gluten free, count me in.  I drove over to her house to pick it up and literally I pulled the used spoon out of my lunch box and devoured the whole thing in my car on my way home from her house.  No – I am not ashamed.  I can’t tell you how good it was.  It was freaking AMAZING.  I HAD to have the recipe.  This was Friday evening.

Enter Sunday afternoon – I have now procured the recipe from my friend.  You can find her original recipe here.  So Sunday afternoon I gave it a whirl on my own.  The recipe was so easy and took less than 15 minutes from start to finish.  The worst part is waiting the few hours for the mousse to set so you can partake in the chocolatey rich goodness of it.  Anyway, I was able to make 5 1-cup ziplock plastic to-go containers out of 1 recipe.  Naturally, I ate one every day Monday – Thursday as an after school treat or after dinner dessert (I shared one with a friend).  That was on March 9th.

Since I had consumed my last chocolate mousse, I really haven’t been able to stop thinking about it.  I’ve never been addicted to anything so I’m not sure what that feels like but seriously I could not stop thinking about this mousse.  And now that I’m writing this (and eating my mousse at the same time) I didn’t realize that I just made this last week.  Still – not ashamed.

So tonight I caved and busted out my KitchenAide mixer and took a quick 15 minutes to make myself another heavenly batch of the highly addicting chocolate mousse.  You can thank me (or my friend, Z, later).  You’re welcome!

So good and so easy - you'll want to make it every week!

So good and so easy – you’ll want to make it every week!

Ingredients
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup Palm Sugar (coconut sugar)
1 cup mini chocolate chips (I use EnjoyLife)
4 eggs separated
1 can full-fat coconut milk (just the solid cream part, not the liquid)

Directions
1. Separate 4 eggs, place the whites in one bowl and the yolks in another
2. Open a can of coconut milk and drain all the water from it, making sure to keep the solid milk fat portion
3. Add water to a pot and heat until it is boiling
4. Reduce heat to medium-low and add the coconut sugar to the pan, whisking it in until it the sugar is dissolved
5. Move pot to another burner and allow it to cool for about five minutes
6. Add the chocolate chips to pot and whisk until melted
7. Whisk egg yolks until they are light yellow in color
8. With your mixer, whip egg whites until they form stiff peaks
9. Add the egg yolks into the same pot and whisk until the consistency of the chocolate mixture is smooth
10. Fold the egg whites into the pot containing the chocolate mixture and whisk until thoroughly combined
11. Add the can of drained coconut milk to the mixture and again, whisk until well combined and the mixture is smooth.
12. Place the chocolate mousse into containers, 1 used 5 1-cup ziplock disposable containers and evenly portioned them out.
13. Refrigerate overnight
14. Sprinkle a generous amount mini chocolate chips on top of mousse before serving and enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

