Shamrock Shuffle 5K 2014

8:00 AM and my alarm goes off.  Already I am in a good mood.  Why, you might ask?  Because my first race of the season doesn’t start until 10:10 AM and that is fantastic!  The birds are chirping, the sky is blue – already this is a vast improvement from last year’s Shamrock Shuffle where it was cold, gray, and on the verge of raining.  Don’t get me wrong, it was still quite chilly out but somehow the cold factor is so much more bearable when the sun is shining.

I love the Shamrock Shuffle 5K because 1. It supports Tatum’s Bags of Fun which is a great organization that distributes backpacks filled with games, activities, and toys to every child diagnosed with cancer in Indiana. 2. It is by far one of my favorite race shirts EVER.  They are so comfortable and soft it is not even funny.  And it gives me something green to wear for St. Patrick’s Day.  3. It’s close to home so I don’t have to drive far or fight traffic for a parking spot.  BONUS!

This year they made it even better because you got a super sweet green frog medal (the mascot for Tatum’s Bags of Fun).  That’s an improvement from last year.   I’m always down for some new race bling.  They also improved the route from last year as well which is greatly appreciated.  All in all – I really dig this race and because I was able to run in the inaugural race last year, I’ll probably want to keep running it every year.  It’s not very often you get to be a part of an inaugural race.

Anyway – despite the sunshine it was still pretty chilly and the wind was brutal.  Even with these two factors (and don’t forget a couple of hills), I was able to hit a new personal record for a 5K.  My last personal record was in June of 2012 when I ran the Fishers Freedom Festival 5K.  My official time was 24 minutes and 47 seconds.  I’m super proud to say that I broke that PR today with an official time of 24 minutes and 32 seconds.  My husband didn’t do too shabby either.  He finished in 23 minutes and 40 seconds.  We both were able to place in our age divisions, he placed 3rd and I placed 1st.  This is the 3rd time we have both placed in a race together.  I’m hoping this becomes a regular occurrence.

So my race season has officially started and it’s gotten off to a great start.  I couldn’t be happier!

Shamrock Shuffle 2014 Official Time - 24:32 Average Pace 4:54/K Official Place - 19/291 Age Division Place - 1st

Shamrock Shuffle 2014
Official Time – 24:32
Average Pace 4:54/K
Official Place – 19/291
Age Division Place – 1st

Tags: , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

3 responses to “Shamrock Shuffle 5K 2014”

  1. Kristin says :

    Great job!!! Love the pic!!! So cute!

Leave a Reply

