On a Budget (and coconut whipped cream)

I’m a huge proponent of eating clean (when you can) and staying on a budget.  Let’s face it, eating healthy can be expensive.  Produce isn’t always cheap and because it can go bad, you are always stocking up your fridge for the week.  The key to saving money is finding the produce that is on sale and buying that for the week.  I used to just buy whatever I wanted for each week but when my grocery bills were exceeding $100 (for just 2 people), I was thinking my spending was getting out of hand.  PLUS, I was throwing some stuff away because I just couldn’t eat it fast enough.  Now that I’ve eliminated a bunch of things from my nutrition like dairy, legumes, and gluten (not for the trend but for health reasons), I find I’m able to eat more produce because I don’t have as many choices to choose from.

Anyway – Kroger was having this great sale on produce: Pineapples – $1.00, Strawberry Papayas – 2 for $5.00, 5-lb. bag Blood Oranges – $2.99, and Raspberries 2 pints – $5.00.  I also picked up a package of pre-sliced mangos for $4.99 (that wasn’t really bargain shopping but I LOVE mangoes and they were really ripe this week so I couldn’t pass it up).  So I picked up all of these things, took them home, chopped them up into bit-sized pieces and made myself this super delicious tropical fruit salad.  To take this fruit salad to the next level, I whipped up some super easy coconut whipped cream.  Yes – you really can make whipped cream from canned coconut milk.  It just takes a little bit of planning and a few minutes and you are all set.

Ingredients
1 can coconut milk (I use Thai Kitchen)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tablespoon powdered sugar (optional – if you like it to be a tad sweeter)

Directions
1. Place a metal mixing bowl in the freezer for at least 1 hour.  Place your coconut milk in the fridge for 2 hours or overnight if you really like to plan ahead.  This ensures that the cream separates from the liquid.

2. Separate the solid cream from the liquid.  Save the liquid for later or pour over your fruit salad to act as a liquid.  In your metal mixing bowl, add the solid coconut cream and vanilla extract (and powdered sugar if you are using it).  Mix with an electric mixer on high for 1-2 minutes or until thoroughly mixed through and it has a creamy consistency.

3. Add a huge dollop to your fruit salad and enjoy!

A delicious and guilt-free treat!

A delicious and guilt-free treat and on a budget too!

The actual fruit salad ingredients with their prices
1 small pineapple – $1.00
2 strawberry papayas – $5.00
1 container pre-sliced mangos – $4.99
1 pint raspberries – $2.50
2 blood oranges – $.74 (8 oranges for $2.99 = $0.37 an orange)
1 can coconut milk – $2.89
Total – $17.12
Makes about 10 servings (perfect for breakfast and lunch sides) = $1.71 per serving

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

