Pure Barre Review

I’ll admit that I have fitness ADD.  I find something that tickles my fancy and I engross myself in it until I really can’t stand it any longer.  Actually – I’m that way with a lot of things.  When I was in 7th grade, I asked my mom to make me salami and cheese sandwiches for lunch EVERY DAY.  I ate the same sandwich EVERY DAY for lunch, Monday – Friday, for 7 months before I decided I was on another kick (peanut butter & fluff).  I haven’t eaten a salami and cheese sandwich since.  No lie.  Anyway, when I first moved to Indiana I didn’t have any friends and I had left my family back in Pennsylvania.  So naturally I immersed myself in the gym scene where I accidentally stumbled upon Zumba.  I instantly fell in love.  After the first class I found myself rearranging my schedule so that I could make it to every evening class that was available during the week (that also was taught by my favorite instructor).  That love turned into me pursuing my group fitness certification and eventually teaching my own classes.  This love affair with Zumba lasted for about 4 years until I decidedly became officially burnt out and it was no longer fun for me.  I was dreading going to teach class and after teaching my own class and aside from taking classes from a select few, I found it hard to be part of the class again.  So I was on to the next thing.  Enter running.

I officially began running in 2011 while I was still in the midst of my Zumba phase.  But as I was becoming more serious about running and training, Zumba began to take a back seat.  In fact, after Lifestyle Family Fitness became LifeTime Fitness and I lost all of my LesMills classes (BodyPump, BodyAttack, and CXWorx), I really stopped enjoying group fitness all together.  The classes at LifeTime Fitness (I only speak of the facility I was a member at, not the company itself) just didn’t measure up to what had been the caliber of classes and the instructors when it was Lifestyle.  So I just focused on my running and lifting weights here and there.

Now I’m 3 years into running and while I still enjoy it – I’m looking to add something else to my weekly line up.  I want something that is fun and engaging as well as promote long, lean muscles.  My friend suggested Pure Barre.  I’ve had a few friends now who have tried Pure Barre and absolutely LOVE IT.  They rave about it.  I also did some research about it and I decided to give it a shot.  A nice thing about this company is that your first class is absolutely free so there is no risk in giving it a try.  That is a major plus in my book!

I always go in to new workouts and classes with an open mind and try hard not to be biased.  After my first Pure Barre class, here are my thoughts:

Pros

  1. The facility is really nice and clean.  The front lobby area reminds me of a little boutique where you can buy accessories and Pure Barre gear.
  2. The front desk gal was super nice and welcoming.  She gave me the short tour and a welcome goodie bag.
  3. The actual workout room is large and spacious.  Everything looked clean and smelled clean (which is huge in a fitness facility).  There was plenty of equipment (mats, balls, weights, and bands) for everyone.
  4. During the actual workout – my arms felt like they were getting a good workout despite the light weights, my legs were definitely shaking from time to time during the bar workout (hello plie squats!)
  5. Although I didn’t sweat, I felt like my major muscle groups got a pretty good workout.

Cons

  1. The instructor didn’t do the workout with the class.  She walked around to check form (which I totally can appreciate), but she gave directions on the microphone which was about the same level as the music so it was sometimes difficult to hear what she was saying. Also, because she wasn’t always demonstrating, being new to the class and new to the lingo, I had NO IDEA what was going on.
  2. The lady next to me took my equipment instead of her own, so I was always 2 moves behind everyone else while scrambled to where her things were so I could also have equipment.  That lady was so clueless, she had no idea that she even took my ball in the beginning.  So that automatically threw me off from the start.  For future reference, stand next to someone who looks like they know what they are doing.
  3. It was super crowded (good for them, not for me) – so I felt like I was going to hit the person next to me during the upper body weighted segment.  Also – it was so crowded that when the instructor did do demonstrations on the bar, it was at the opposite end of the room and her back was facing the group (no mirror) so I still had no idea what she was doing.  I tried to look around but the people in the class were all doing different things so I wasn’t sure who was doing it right.
  4. If you haven’t been going for a while, some of the directions make no sense.  Her idea of a pulse and what I call a pulse are two different things.  What in the world does pulse, freeze mean?
  5. The instructor didn’t ask if anyone was new in the beginning of class so when she finally came around to inform me that I was doing it wrong (which I already knew), I had to tell her that I was new and had no clue what she was talking about.  After that she did a better job of circling around more to help when I obviously looked lost.  Actually, I felt pretty dumb in this class and who likes to feel dumb?  Not me.
  6. I checked my watch every 15 minutes – that’s not a good sign.  It seriously felt like the longest hour of my life.
  7. It just didn’t have that spark for me.  If I’m not super into the class within the first 15 minutes, I’m probably not going to come back.  I do my best not to leave class in the middle because I don’t want to offend any instructor, but I was seriously ready to go after 20 minutes.
  8. It is SUPER EXPENSIVE.  Even with my teacher discount, it is still $140 a month.  Thats a bit pricey for only 1 type of class every day.

All in all – I can see why some people really enjoy this.  My instructor was nice, she knew what she was doing, she was rehearsed, and the music was okay.  I can tell I will be sore tomorrow because I used muscles that I don’t normally use in my regular workouts, but sadly this workout just isn’t for me.  I just couldn’t get into it and for that money, I need to be addicted.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

