Just in Time for Valentine’s Day: Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Let’s face it – chocolate covered strawberries can be expensive.  You order a bouquet from Edible Arrangements and you’re looking at a minimum of $29.oo for 1 dozen strawberries.  $29.00?!  WTF!  And that is just for the strawberries and the box it comes in, it doesn’t include delivery charges.  If you want them to be delivered, tack on an extra $12.00.  So one dozen strawberries covered in chocolate (no sprinkles) will cost you an upwards of $40.00 when everything is all said and done.  If you buy them from the bakery aisle at the grocery store, 1 single strawberry can cost you almost $2.00 a strawberry, or $5.99 for a 4 count with your Kroger Shopper Reward Card.  Anyway you look at it, for a dozen chocolate covered strawberries you are still spending around $20.00.  Ridiculous if you ask me.

There is a simple budget friendly solution.  Make them yourself.  Even making an allergy-friendly version of these decadent treats are cheaper than buying them already made.  Today, this very minute, Kroger has 16 oz. containers of strawberries 2 for $4.00.  So you can potentially get 24+ strawberries for $4.00.  In addition to the strawberries, all you need is 1 package of Enjoy Life chocolate chips.  These cost anywhere from $4.59 – $4.99 depending on where you shop.  Sometimes you can get a really good buy 1 get 1 free deal from Earth Fare or $3.99 at Kroger when they are on sale.  I tend to stock up when I can so I always have a bag on hand.  Then you need a splash of whatever milk or milk substitute you drink at home.  I drink unsweetened almond milk, but soy milk can work just fine and if you don’t have a dairy allergy – regular chocolate chips and milk work fine too.

Really – that’s all you need.  $9.00 and a little bit of time and you’ve got yourself the perfect Valentine’s Day dessert, surprise, gift, etc.

Ingredients
1-2 16 oz. containers (depending on how many strawberries you want)
1 bag Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips
Splash of Almond Milk (I used unsweetened vanilla but you can use whatever you have on hand)
Parchment Paper to prevent sticking

Directions

  1. Wash strawberries and pat dry, remember to leave stems as they allow easy gripping for dipping into the chocolate.
  2. Place 2 cups of water in a pot and top with a glass bowl.
  3. On medium high heat, add all of the chocolate chips to the glass bowl.  Stir gently with a spatula until chocolate is smooth.  You can add your almond milk at this time until you get achieve your desired thickness.  I found the Enjoy Life chips tend to have a thicker consistency when they are melted than regular chocolate chips.
  4. Remove the chocolate from the heat to avoid burning (no one wants burnt chocolate for Valentine’s Day).  Dip the strawberries into the chocolate and place onto your parchment paper.
  5. Allow them to cool for 45 minutes.  The strawberries will get a nice hard shell.
  6. The strawberries will keep for 3 days covered in the refrigerator.
Row upon row of chocolate-y strawberry goodness and for under $10!

Row upon row of chocolatey strawberry goodness and for under $10!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

