Gluten Free & Dairy Free Biscuits and Gravy

My husband has been begging me to make biscuits and gravy for him for who knows how long.  I have resisted making them because I can’t eat biscuits and I can’t eat the gravy that goes on them.  So really, why would I waste all that precious prep and cook time in the kitchen to make something that smells delicious but then I can’t eat it.  Exactly – you see my point.

Enter in gluten free Bisquick.  Normally a large box of Bisquick is pretty cheap but as most of you know, nothing gluten free is ever cheap.  A small box of gluten free Bisquick runs about $4.59 at Walmart.  Now, could I make homemade gluten free biscuits on my own?  Sure.  Do I want to?  Not particularly.  So in this instance, I completely justified using a pre-made box mix to help me out and save me some time.  Can you blame me?

To make the biscuits, all you have to do is follow the directions on the box.  It really is that simple.  Now that we have gotten over that part, it is time to move onto the delicious sausage gravy that you generously dump all over the biscuits.  My mouth is literally watering just thinking about it.

Ingredients
1 pound ground pork or turkey
1 tablespoon almond flour/meal
1 tablespoon arrowroot powder
1 can coconut milk
2 teaspoons sage
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 cup chicken stock (if needed)
salt & pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Saute the sausage in a large skillet until completely cooked.  Remove sausage from the pan, saving about 2 tablespoons of the drippings from the sausage.  Keep these drippings in the pan.
  2. Add the almond flour and arrowroot powder to the skillet and whisk with the sausage fat over medium-low heat, until a paste is formed, working to scrape up some of the sausage drippings.  Be careful not to burn this.  Patience is a virtue in this case.
  3. Pour in about 1/4 of the coconut milk, the sage, and paprika at this time and bring it up to medium heat, stirring often.  It is key to get all of those delicious browned sausage bits into your gravy.
  4. Add the remaining coconut milk, stirring as you go to avoid lumps, and bring to a light simmer.  Add your sausage back in, and simmer until gravy reaches your desired thickness.  If your gravy becomes too thick for your liking, add some chicken stock to thin it out.
  5. Generously pour over your sliced biscuits and serve.
Perfect for a cold winter morning or your Sunday brunch!

Perfect for a cold winter morning or your Sunday brunch!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

