Funktastic

I’m not going to lie.  I’ve been in a pretty serious funk the last two weeks.  The last time I even attempted a workout was when I ran my half marathon 2 weeks ago.  Since then (that very day in fact), I’ve moved into my new house and life has been pretty hectic ever since.  After we moved into our new home, I had to go back to work on Monday morning so there was no day of unpacking a getting settled.  It was get up early, go to work, come home, bake a pie, and head out to Bible study.  The week consisted of unpacking box after box and figuring out where to put things.  I finished unpacking my kitchen, which took 3 days, and then moved onto my closet which also took a few days… When the weekend rolled around we spent the entire Saturday raking leaves and ripping ivy off the side of the house as well as off some of the trees.  Did I mention that having mature trees totally sucks?  Yes, they are very pretty to look at but they completely suck in the fall.

Before I knew it, Monday had rolled around again and it was back to work I went.  Where did my weekend go?  This week was worse than the first because my husband had to leave for a work trip which left me alone with the dog.  This meant earlier mornings and later evenings, cooking, cleaning, and more unpacking plus my normal after school tutoring gigs (I tutor 4 different kids every week Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursdays).  I know that people say (and I’ve been guilty of it too) that if you really want something you will find the time to do it.

Let me tell you – I really want to work out.  I really enjoy working out.  But I honestly could not find the time to do it unless I woke up earlier than 5:30 AM or went to bed later than 11:00 PM and I’m sorry but sleep ranks high up on things that I need to function and I’m not willing to give that up.

I am a person who craves routine.  I live for routine.  It makes me comfortable and keeps my stress levels low.  These last two weeks I have had ZERO routine and I’m still struggling to find it.  I’m trying to figure out how to juggle my full-time job, my part-time job, volunteering at church on Monday evenings, cooking home-cooked meals not only for dinner but for my lunches as well since it is tough for me to eat out, unpacking my house, keeping up with my house responsibilities, AND finding time to get the gym.  It has not been easy.

Today was the first time I was able to actually step foot in the gym.  I ran for 3 miles and about puked all over the treadmill.  I’m not sure if it’s because I’m out of practice or because I ate that piece of gluten-free chocolate cake about an hour before I left for the gym.  Either way, my gym experience was less than stellar (and not because of the facility, that was great), but because I’m just out of the game.

Here’s hoping to get back on track and finding a routine that works with my new schedule so I can get back to working out and feeling good.  Fingers crossed!

Tags: ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

