Gluten Free, Dairy Free French Apple Pie

For the next 8 weeks I am volunteering at my church’s Alpha group in the kitchen.  Including myself, we have 4 gluten allergies, 1 MSG allergy, and 1 lactose intolerant person.  Feeding that many people with that many allergies can be intimidating and perhaps slightly overwhelming to many people and the easy way out would be to buy a box of allergy-friendly cookies and send those people on their merry way while the rest of the participants get to dine on spiced cake or brownies with ice cream.  These people come to Alpha not only to feed their spirits but also to feed their bellies and I want everyone walking away with that, “That food was so good, I can’t wait to come back next week,” feeling.  So I took it upon myself to make the allergen-friendly dessert.   I got the skeleton recipe from good ole’ Betty Crocker and then tweaked it to make it dairy free as well.  It was delicious and there were no leftovers for me to take home, even the people without allergies were wanting a piece.  Had I known, I would have made more!  Anyway – here is the recipe, enjoy!

Golden brown and deliciously allergen-friendly

Golden brown and deliciously allergen-friendly

Ingredients – Filling
3 apples, peeled and sliced (I used 2 McIntosh and 1 Rome)
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
1/2 cup Biquick Gluten Free mix
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
2 tablespoons Earth Balance Coconut Spread, melted (you could probably use coconut oil or coconut butter as well)
3 eggs

Ingredients – Streusel
1/3 cup Bisquick Gluten Free mix
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
3 tablespoons Earth Balance Coconut Spread

Directions
1. Heat the oven to 325 degrees.  Grease 9-inch glass pie-plate with coconut oil.  In a medium bowl, mix apples, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Place in pie plate.

2. In the same bowl, stir remaining filling ingredients until well blended.  Pour over apple mixture in pie plate.  In a small bowl. mix all of the streusel ingredients using a fork until it is crumbly.  Sprinkle evenly over pie filling.

3. Bake for 45 – 50 minutes or until golden brown and inserted knife comes out clean.  Serve warm with Almond Dream Praline Ice Cream or store in the refrigerator for later use.

Makes 8 servings

Serve it warm with a big scoop of Almond Dream Ice Cream for the perfect fall dessert!

Serve it warm with a big scoop of Almond Dream Ice Cream for the perfect fall dessert!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

One response to “Gluten Free, Dairy Free French Apple Pie”

  1. bestreid1 says :

    Oh wow! I don’t know if you’re from the UK but I would really appreciate your opinions in this survey! I want to hear from more people who are lactose intolerance/dairy free.
    https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/CLVNYS7 Thanks in advance!!!

Leave a Reply

