A New Twist on Puppy Chow

One of my favorite party snacks is puppy chow.  You know – Chex cereal, chocolate, peanut butter, butter, and powdered sugar?  Yea, that’s the stuff.  So GOOD!  And while most Chex cereal is gluten free, it’s the chocolate chips and butter that get me.  Oh and for you peanut allergy people out there, I’ve got a solution for you too.

I’m sure I’m not the first person to think of this or to make it, but just in case you didn’t think of it, here is the recipe for you.  I’ve already tried it and it is delicious!  I’m just hoping I don’t consume all of it before tonight’s bonfire.

Ingredients
9 cups – Gluten-Free Chex Cereal (I used corn Chex, but you can use a combo of corn and rice or just rice)
1 cup – Enjoy Life chocolate chips (these are dairy free, soy free, and peanut free)
1/2 cup – Justin’s Almond Butter
1/4 cup – Earth Balance Organic Coconut Spread (this is also dairy free, soy free, and peanut free)
1 tsp – Vanilla Extract
1 1/2 cups – Powdered Sugar

Directions
1. Measure out 9 cups of cereal, place in large mixing bowl and set aside.

2. In a microwave safe bowl, add chocolate chips, almond butter, and coconut spread.  Microwave uncovered for 1 minute.  Stir.  Place it back in the microwave for another 30 seconds.  Stir until everything is smooth.  Add the vanilla extra and stir one last time.

3. Dump the chocolate mixture on the cereal and carefully stir the cereal until it is evenly coated.

4. Pour the coated cereal into a 2-gallon zip lock back (or do 2 small batches in 1-gallon zip lock bag like I did) and add the powdered sugar.  Seal the bag and shake to your heart’s content until all the cereal is coated.

5. Spread out on wax paper to cool before sharing it with your friends.

Try not to eat it all.  Remember sharing is caring!

Try not to eat it all. Remember sharing is caring!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

2 responses to “A New Twist on Puppy Chow”

  1. Gluten Free Fabulous says :

    Looks tasty and easy to make – and making me crave chocolate! I’ll have to try this.

Leave a Reply

