Gluten Free & Dairy Free Pumpkin Streusel

Pumpkin season is upon us and if you are anything like me, you LOVE anything pumpkin!  Pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin scones, pumpkin bread, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin cupcakes, pumpkin pancakes, iced pumpkin cookies, pumpkin pie, pumpkin cider, pumpkin pop tarts… you catch my drift.  However, if you are also anything like me, you can’t have the above mentioned pumpkin goodies because either by choice or by need you can no longer consume gluten or dairy.  Major bummer!

Enter my Pumpkin Streusel.  This recipe is super easy and super basic.  Sometimes the best recipes are the easiest ones.  You can easily adapt this recipe to be not only gluten and dairy free but to also accommodate a paleo diet or make it Whole30 approved.  If you are paleo, simply substitute the sugar for 1/4 cup of honey.  If you are on the Whole30 plan, just omit the sugar all together.  Simple as that!  If you enjoy pumpkin as much as I do, this is recipe is definitely a keeper!

Filling Ingredients
3/4 cup granulated sugar (or 1/4 cup honey or no sugar at all)
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
2 large eggs
1 can (15 oz) canned pumpkin (not pie filling)
1 can (15 oz) unsweetened coconut milk (1st pressing)

Streusel Topping
1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup almond meal
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup brown sugar (optional)

Directions

  1. Mix sugar (if using), cinnamon, salt, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg in a small bowl.  Beat eggs in a large bowl.  Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mix.  If using honey, beat the honey with the eggs.  Gradually stir in the coconut milk.
  2. Pour into a un-greased glass pie plate.
  3. In another bowl, mix together the nuts, almond meal, cinnamon, and sugar.  Make sure all of the nuts are evenly coated with the almond meal.  Sprinkle on top your pie filling so it is evenly covered.
  4. Bake in a preheated 425 degrees F oven for 15 minutes.  Reduce the temperature to 350 degrees and bake for until 40-50 minutes or until a nice comes out clean.  Serve warm or cold.  Makes a great breakfast treat the next morning!
This "crustless" pie is made with all nuts for a topping. It still gives you that pumpkin pie taste without the added grains in the crust or topping!

This “crustless” pie is made with all nuts for a topping. It still gives you that pumpkin pie taste without the added grains in the crust or topping!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

One response to “Gluten Free & Dairy Free Pumpkin Streusel”

  1. frivolousfringe says :

    I must make this!!! Thanks for sharing :] xo
    http://www.frivolousfringe.com

Leave a Reply

