Easy Paleo Meatballs

This is a super simple meatball recipe that literally makes 50 meatballs.  They are great for spaghetti squash and meatballs or just by themselves.  Because the recipe makes so many meatballs (6 meatballs = 1 serving), it’s a great leftover take to lunch kind of meal.  Enjoy!

Served with kale and cumin roasted carrots in this picture.

Served with kale and cumin roasted carrots in this picture.

Ingredients
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/2 TBSP salt
1 TSBP fennel seeds
1 TBSP ground black pepper
1 tsp ground sweet paprika
1 TBSP yellow mustard
1 cup fresh parsley, chopped (about 1/4 cup after it’s been chopped)
1 large egg
1 pound ground pork
1 pound lean ground beef (bison, lamb, venison work well here too)

Directions

  1.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Cover a large baking dish with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. In a large bow, mix the garlic, salt, fennel seeds, paprika, pepper, parsley, mustard, and egg with a fork until well combined.  With your hands, crumble the ground pork and ground beef into the bowl.  Knead until all of the ingredients are mixed together.
  3. Moisten your hands with water.  Measure a level tablespoon of meat and roll into a ball between your palms.  Line up the meatballs on your prepared baking sheet, roughly 1/2 inch apart.
  4. Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes until they are golden brown and cooked through.

This recipe was adapted from the Well Fed cookbook, but changed to meet my personal tastes and it is Whole30 compliant.  Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. My Whole30 | This is Me - September 18, 2013

Leave a Reply

