Paleo Taco Seasoning

Since giving up wheat, sugar, and all sorts of other processed things, I started looking for ways I can make my favorites at home… tacos and Mexican food being one of them.  In came the need to find a homemade taco seasoning that didn’t use wheat or cornstarch as a thickening agent.  I was surprised at how simple this recipe is and it makes a lot.  There is a nice kick to it and if you are making ground beef, simply add 2-3 tablespoons of the taco seasoning mix for each pound of ground beef you are cooking.  Add the seasonings and 1/4 cup of water and allow to simmer for roughly 5 minutes or so.  I would have put a picture in, but I’m running low.  I promise to add one as soon as I make another batch!

Ingredients
2 Tablespoons Chili Powder
1 1/2 Tablespoons Cumin
1 1/2 Tablespoons Sweet Paprika
1 Tablespoon Onion Powder
1 Tablespoon Granulated Garlic Powder
2 Teaspoons dried Oregano
1/2 Teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes (optional – I don’t like too spicy so I didn’t put it in)

Directions
Place everything in a container and shake it up.

Super easy and really cost efficient!  Enjoy!

Tags: , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

3 responses to “Paleo Taco Seasoning”

  1. sassyandpaleoish says :

    This is a great recipe. I make it myself.

  2. Soph says :

    Seems so easy (and I’m sure delicious!) I must try it!

Leave a Reply

