Paleo Mayo

This recipe doesn’t call for much, but what you need the most of is patience.  If your batch comes out a tad runny, no worries!  Use it to make a delicious, homemade, preservative-free, non-dairy, creamy salad dressing.  Yummy!

My very own batch of homemade mayo!  Came out perfect!

My very own batch of homemade mayo! Came out perfect!

Ingredients
1 large egg
2 tablespoons of lemon juice
1/4 cup plus 1 cup of light olive oil (NOT EXTRA-VIRGIN!!!)
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. 1. In a food processor, break the egg and add the lemon juice.  Put the lid on it and allow the egg and lemon juice to come to room temperature for about 45 minutes to an hour (I told you that you needed patience!)
  2. When the egg and lemon juice are room temperature, add mustard, salt, and 1/4 cup of oil.  Blend on medium until all the ingredients are well combined.  Then very, very, very slowly begin pouring the rest of the olive oil into the blender.  You want the slowest, skinniest drizzle you can muster.  This will take about 2-3 minutes depending on your pour.
  3. When all of the oil is incorporated, you should have something that resembles traditional mayo but way better.
  4. Store in a container with a lid and mark the date.  Your mayo expires when your eggs do.

**Recipe taken from WellFed**

Tags: , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Paleo Creamy Balsamic Dressing | This is Me - August 27, 2013
  2. My Whole30 | This is Me - September 18, 2013

Leave a Reply

