Noblesville Fit Fest 5K

Saturday, August 17 started just like any other race day.  My alarm went off about an hour before I needed to leave.  I brushed my teeth, washed my face, put some tinted SPF on my face, pulled my hair back, and got my race gear on.  It was a brisk 48 degrees that morning, but just like a nice fall day (wait a minute… it’s August), it was scheduled to warm up a bit later on.  So I opted for my Nike capris, pink top, and long sleeve pull-over.  I checked the clock, 6:45 AM and we need to leave in 15 minutes in order to find parking, get to the packet pick-up table, get our race bibs, timing chips, and put the bag of goodies in the car all before the race starts.  Guess who was still sound asleep in bed?  That’s right, my husband.  I gently shook him on the shoulder to get him awake.  Meanwhile, I let the dog out and put food and water into his bowl so we could get out on time.  I have anxiety about being late…

Being an inaugural event, you never know what to expect, especially because the Noblesville Fit Fest wasn’t just offering a 5K, but also a Sprint Triathlon, Sprint Duathlon, Sprint Aquabike, Aquathon, and a Kids Aquathon as well.  That’s A LOT of races to manage in one event.  The race was located at Forest Park in Noblesville.  It is probably one of the prettiest parks I’ve been to in the area and it is HUGE.  It boasts a mini-golf area, carousel horses, skate park, playground equipment, baseball diamond (with bleachers), and a pool with a serious high dive.  I’m sure I’m missing quite a bit (like the beautiful surrounding nature) but you get the point.

The 5K was first up in the race events.  The course was simple, just running a straight path over the bridge and onto the trail.  Now let me just say that this was my kind of trail run.  Paved trail wide enough for 4 people across to run next to each other if they wanted to (although no one did) and all around you were beautiful trees, plants, and the river.  If I wasn’t running in the race, I would have definitely stopped to survey my surroundings.

It was also a fairly flat course so I made pretty good time.  My husband, the loving supportive man that he is, ran next to me the entire time… until we reached mile 2.  We came up on a little boy no more than 10 years-old (and that’s pushing it).  He was running his little heart out, speeding up, slowing down, not really having a specific pace in mind.  So naturally, I sped up and passed him as did my husband.  We kept our pace steady.  And wouldn’t you know that little kid sped up, passed us, and then slowed down again right in front of us.  Well, my husband didn’t think it was so cute anymore so he simply took off leaving both me and the kid in his dust.  Real nice, sweetheart, real nice.  So now I’m left trying to push myself to get around this kid.  My music on my phone wasn’t doing me any favors.  Every time I would get close to him, he would hear my music and speed up.  Not to mention this kid was running back and forth closing any kind of gap that I could possibly pass him with.  I was getting frustrated because I was also speeding up and slowing down so I didn’t trip over him.  I saw an opening and decided to go for it, I sped up ready to pass him on the left and wouldn’t you know the minute I started to gain on him, he started drifting that way.  Nope – sorry kid.  Not this time.  I put my hand out and touched his arm and said, “On your left.”  And that was it, I took off to put some space between us before I slowed back down to my comfortable pace.  That kid didn’t try to pass me again.  I was finally free.

My husband was no longer in sight… so I just keep trucking along picking off people to pass in front of me.  At this point, I’m pretty sure my lungs are ready to collapse because I’m seriously booking it.  And of course there is that pesky hill at the end… always a hill at the end.  I swear they plan it that way.  I round the bend and the finish line is in sight and I can hear people cheering, “Way to go, Joel!”  Joel?!  Who’s Joel?  I turn to look over my shoulder and I see this guy creeping up on me getting ready to pass me.  Well now my competitive side has kicked in and you better believe I’m not going to have someone pass me in the last 0.1 mile of the race.  I put my best sprint forward and cross the finish line where the fresh bananas and bottled water are calling my name.

I found my husband relaxing on a bench nearby.  He told me I did a good job.  I wanted to smack him because I ate a good dinner, went to bed early, and ate breakfast while he ate a crappy dinner, went to bed at 12:30 AM, and woke up 15 minutes before we had to leave with no breakfast and he STILL beat me.  Some things are just not fair.  It’s a good thing I love him!

He came in 3rd place in his age division while I placed 1st in mine.  Another PR set for me.  It is the first time I came in 1st place in my age division on any given race.  I’m pretty proud of that.  We collected our prizes and called it day.  All in all, it was a fun race, great scenery, and the race coordinators  did a great job.  I look forward to participating in it again next year.

Noblesville Fit Fest 5K Overall Place: 18/97 Age Division Place: 1/5 Average Pace: 8:05

Noblesville Fit Fest 5K
Overall Place: 18/97
Age Division Place: 1/5
Average Pace: 8:05

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

