Paleo Dinner for 2 – Seared Sea Scallops

A handful of my friends have read It Starts With Food and have begun (or finished) their Whole30 plan. Talking to them, reading their blogs (which I will repost on my blog as soon as I get permission), looking at their instagram meal photos, and reading Facebook posts has inspired me to take a closer look at how I’m eating day-to-day. Naturally, I hopped onto Amazon and not only purchased It Starts With Food, but also Well Fed: Paleo Recipes for People Who Love to Eat, and Paleo Slow Cooker. (My thought process was to give myself LOTS of choices when it comes to recipes.) My book has yet to come in the mail (but should be here soon), but since I’m already eating gluten-free and dairy-free, I figured why not eat clean most of the time now (I still am having difficulty giving up my non-dairy creamer and soy lattes) and then jump in whole-heartedly once my book arrives (and I have a chance to read it).

I’ve been on a big seafood kick lately. Maybe it is because I just got back from the shore where I dined on fresh oysters, clams, and crab legs all week. But either way, I just can’t seem to get enough of it (except fish…. I can’t seem to like any cooked fish except salmon). The other day I made jumbo tiger shrimp on the grill YUM!!! But a girl can only eat shrimp so often (who am I kidding, I could eat shrimp every day! sautéed, grilled, baked, stir-fried, in tacos… you get the picture). Actually, it is my husband who probably would get tired of eating shrimp every day so I went out on a limb and picked up a pound of jumbo sea scallops. I’ve never made scallops before, but you’ll never learn something new if you don’t try. The outcome was awesome! This meal is paleo friendly, Whole30 friendly, gluten-free, and dairy-free, and pescatarian friendly!

Roasted Sweet Potatoes
Makes 2-3 Servings
Why haven’t I thought of this before?! I always made baked sweet potatoes (which I find repulsive at best and usually choke down), frozen sweet potato fries (which tend to come out soggy), or candied sweet potatoes (think Thanksgiving and TONS of butter which I can no longer eat). My best friend was telling me how she loves to roast veggies and I thought, why don’t I do that? Sure, it takes a lot longer than nuking a baker in the microwave for 7 minutes, but the outcome is SO MUCH better! Plus it’s only 3 ingredients. Yes, I said that. 3 ingredients!

What you need:
2 sweet potatoes, washed, scrubbed, cut into 1-inch cubes
3-4 TBS Coconut Oil
Low-Sodium Salt, Sea Salt, or whatever salt you prefer

What you do:
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Put the coconut oil in a glass baking dish (I used a smaller rectangular one, but I’m sure you can use anything you have on hand). If the oil is solid, place the baking dish in the oven for 3-5 minutes until oil is melted. Take it out and toss the sweet potatoes in the oil, making sure to evenly coat them. Sprinkle with salt and roast in the oven for 40 minutes. About halfway through give the potatoes a stir. They are done when the fork easily pierces through the potato. Trust me, they don’t need anything else!

Sautéed Green Beans
Makes 2-3 Servings
If you are anything like me, I get in vegetable ruts making the same thing over and over again (usually steamed broccoli or some type of yellow squash or zucchini). The fresh green beans looked promising, so I picked up 1/2 pound and brought them home. Again 4 ingredients, low maintenance, just how I like it!

What you need:
1/2 pound fresh green beans, trimmed
1 TBS coconut oil
Salt & Onion powder

What you do:
Heat up the oil in a medium sauce pan. Add green beans and season with salt and onion powder to taste. Cook until desired tenderness (some like it crunchy and some like it mushy). DONE! Super easy!

Sautéed Jumbo Sea Scallops
Makes 2 Servings
As I mentioned earlier, I love scallops but I never made them at home. I didn’t think I was skilled enough to make them or that I would over cook them. But after eating at Seasons 52 and a couple other places that keep things healthy and simple, I thought I can do that. And if I can do it, you can do it. The key is simplicity. A lot of times recipes have you adding all sorts of weird, exotic, and usually expensive ingredients that you will only use for that one recipe. Not this. Everything you need (other than the scallops) are probably already in your pantry.

What you need:
1 pound Jumbo Sea Scallops, not frozen
TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper

What you do:
In a large saucepan heat up the oil on medium-high heat (not too high). Gently place the scallops around the pan so they are not crowded and it allows for even cooking time. While they are cooking, sprinkle them with salt and pepper. Cook for roughly 5 minutes, until the bottoms are a nice seared golden brown. If your scallops are browning before cooking, turn your heat down to medium. Flip your scallops over and season the other side of them. Cook the second side for another 5-6 minutes to get a nice golden brown top to your scallops.

Once your scallops are done, plate and serve warm. Delicious!

20130807-085357.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

