Super Simple Grilled Dinner for 2

Gluten-Free – check. Dairy-Free – check. Something other than salad – check. Perfect!

The other day my husband and I were taking a cruise around Indiana and came to Wilson’s Market in Cicero. Unlike most farmer’s markets that are only open on the weekends for just a short window of time, Wilson’s is open 7 days a week during harvest season. Never having been there before, I begged my husband to let me take a look around. Of course the first thing I smell when I walk in is the homemade baked goods and fudge (neither of which I can eat). But I stayed a perused the shelves of locally made Amish cheese (which I can’t eat either), locally made kettle corn, candy, dried fruit, frozen pies, frozen meats, and produce. I am a sucker for local produce as I’m sure much of you are as well. I picked up 2 decent-sized potatoes and a large yellow squash and one large zucchini and started to plan out my meal from there.

On Sunday I headed to my local grocery store, Kroger, and looked at the meat counter. Raw jumbo shrimp were only $6.99 a pound so I went ahead and got a pound of those and I found two butterflied pork chops for $4.72 and decided to throw those into my cart as well. I found some disposable grill baskets on sale and decided those would be great to grill the veggies in. At a $1.00 a piece, it seemed like a good investment. Again, easy clean up… Since so many marinades have gluten in them (who knew?!), I opted for a dry rub/seasoning instead. After looking at countless options in the spice aisle, I settled on Lawthorn’s All-Purpose seasoning. I doubled checked the ingredients to make sure it was gluten-free (you never can be too sure), and tossed it into the cart and headed home (after paying of course).

Next came the preparation part which was super simple. I peeled the potatoes, although when I make this next time I will leave the skin on, and boiled them until almost soft. I drained them and set them aside to cool. While the potatoes were boiling, I washed and sliced the squash and zucchini into circles about 1/4 inch think since I’d be cooking them on the grill. I tossed them in olive oil and generously sprinkled some Lawthorn’s all-purpose seasoning on it and set it aside. Next came the meat. On a lined tray (I’m a sucker for easy clean-up), I sprinkled each pork chop with some cracked pepper, drizzled some chili infused olive oil and rubbed it in, followed by some Lawthorn’s all-purpose seasoning. I did this to both sides and set it aside. After soaking some wooden skewers in water for a few hours, I peeled the shrimp but left the tails on (for decorative purposes) and skewered the shrimp. I put about 9 shrimp on each skewer. It made 4 skewers exactly. Then I drizzled some olive oil on each sides of the skewers and sprinkles the shrimp with the Lawthorn’s all-purpse seasoning (hey it did say All-Purpose). Once the potatoes were cool enough to handle, I quartered them and then cut any bigger pieces down, you could get anywhere from 8 to 16 steak fries depending on how large you cut them. I also drizzled these with olive oil and sprinkled them with Morton’s low-sodium salt.

Next I headed outside to heat up my grill on medium heat. I always spray the grill with non-stick cooking spray to avoiding sticking because that just ruins everything. I put the pork chops on first as they would cook the longest. After about 4 minutes, I put the potatoes on the grill. The olive oil allows the potatoes to get that crispy texture (without the frying part) but since they are already cooked, they will be soft on the inside. Then the zucchini and squash went on after another 2-3 minutes. The pork-chops ended up taking about 10 minutes to cook total so I took those off and covered them with foil to allow them to rest for a few minutes and let the juices soak back up into the meat. Last thing was to put the shrimp on the grill as they take just a few minutes to cook. Once they turn from that bluish color to orangish-red they are good to go, about 3-4 minutes.

Notice the use of the grill baskets, perfect for cooking veggies that might might fall into the grill otherwise.

Notice the use of the grill baskets, perfect for cooking veggies that might might fall into the grill otherwise.

Last thing you do is just serve it up from the grill to your plate. If you cut the pork chops in half, you can easily serve this dinner to a family of 4 as each person gets 1/2 pork chop and 1 skewer of shrimp (roughly 9 pieces), 4 steak fries, and some veggies. This is a perfectly healthy gluten-free, dairy-free dinner. And if that wasn’t perfect enough the entire dinner (including the disposable baskets and Lawthorn’s seasoning) cost $23.70 which comes to roughly $6 a serving (rounding up) for a family of 4. You can’t get that kind of meal at that price at any restaurant!

My husband's lunch for the next day! Yum Yum!

My husband’s lunch for the next day! Yum Yum!

Ingredients
1 pound raw jumbo shrimp, peeled & deveined
2 butterflied pork chops
1 yellow squash, sliced
1 zucchini, sliced
2 russet potatoes, boiled & cut into wedges
Olive Oil
Pepper
Lawthorn’s All-Purpse Seasoning

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

