Insanity Cardio Power and Resistance

On Monday (June 10th) I decided to dust off my Insanity DVDs and give them another try.  Now that I’m nannying (which has me up at 5AM), I figure I can just go ahead and get my workout done in the morning while she is still sleeping.  The great thing about their house that I don’t have is a solid large place to workout in with a TV and that way I can still get my evening runs in if I need to while I train for my next race.

I looked at my Insanity calendar and realized I never made it past the second workout so I started with the next workout in the sequence which was Cardio Power and Resistance.  HOLY CRAP!  I know that Insanity is no joke, I mean, it’s called Insanity for crying out loud.  But these exercises are for lack of a better word… insane!

The warm up is by far the best (and when I say best I mean easiest) part.  We did a series of exercises 3 times.  The first round was to get the move down and feel comfortable and to engage your core, the second round was a little bit fast than round 1, and round 3 was all about speed and getting your heart rate up without sacrificing form.  We started with a jog, power jacks, log jumps, 123’s, butt kicks, high knees, and ended with vertical jumps.  Each exercise last 30 seconds and you didn’t get a break until the entire sequence was complete.  I couldn’t believe that was just the warm-up!

We then moved on to my favorite part of the workout… stretching.  And everyone knows how much I hate stretching (even though I know how important it is)… so if this was my favorite part you know how bad I needed to catch my breath!  I will say that Shaun T. is very thorough in moving through all of the stretches.  You feel pretty good to head into the torture you are about to voluntarily put yourself through.

Once the stretching was complete, we head into the actual workout.  Just like the warm-up, Shaun T. had 4 core moves he wanted you to first try in round 1, speed up in round two, and as fast as you possibly can handle in round 3.  The exercises were Power jumps, Belt Kicks, Hit the Floor, and V-Push ups (You can find demos of these on youtube).  By now, I was sweating profusely and trying really hard not to start at the timer that scrolls across the bottom of the screen.  I mean the workout is only 40 minutes long, but dang!  Those are a long 40 minutes!

Now that we were finished with the cardio power portion of the workout, it was time to work on some resistance exercises.  If you want some awesome upper body exercises that don’t utilize weights, you need to check this video out.  Luckily, we only had to do one round of these exercises because I don’t think my body would have handled any more than that.  We did – Triceps Dips, Leg Triceps Dip, Triceps Ball Push-Ups.  Again – these are really difficult to explain but I know there are some great videos out there with people who look much better than me doing them!

Back to cardio power – Hurdle jumps, Globe Jumps, Moving Push-Ups, Floor Sprints (These are just like mountain climbers, only faster and with more intensity. Try and get your legs to your chest as much as possible. Remember, these are floor sprints and not floor walks)… 3 rounds down and I was seriously hurtin’ for certain.

The last exercise we did were 4 sets of 8 hop squats into 8 Push-Ups with no break.  I had to give myself a last push to give it all I had to make it through. I knew the end was in sight, stretching and chance to catch my breath were right around the corner.

I will say that this is not for the faint of heart or for someone who wants an easy at-home workout.  This is real deal.  Shaun T. makes you work for what you want, but I guess that’s why everyone who is on the DVD with him look awesome.

Looking forward to Cardio Recovery tomorrow, that is if I can even walk tomorrow!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

2 responses to “Insanity Cardio Power and Resistance”

  1. JD Silk says :

    Good on you. My brother and his wife have the DVDs and I’ve watched them do some workouts- it actually looks quite fun but yes very tiring. Think I’d like to try it though. Might borrow it from them.

Leave a Reply

