Black Bean Burgers (Gluten-Free)

I made these for dinner the other night and they were fantastic!  Super simple and great to make ahead.  The recipe makes 4 patties that you can easily throw into the freezer for future use.  At 162 calories per patty and only 3 grams of fat, this is a definite keeper in my household!

Black Bean Burgers
Serves 4
162 Calories, 3g Fat, 25g Carbs, 9g Protein

Ingredients

  • 1 (16oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 bell pepper (color up to you, I used red), cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 2 large cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1 egg
  • 1 TBSP chili powder
  • 1 TBSP cumin
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free bread crumbs (see recipe below)
  • 1 tsp low-sodium salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 head of Iceberg Lettuce (for bun)

Directions

  1. If grilling, preheat an outdoor grill for high heat, and lightly oil a sheet of aluminum foil. If baking, preheat oven to 375 degrees F, and lightly oil a baking sheet.
  2. In a food processor, finely chop bell pepper, onion, and garlic. Then stir into mashed beans.
  3. In a small bowl, stir together egg, chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper.
  4. Stir the egg mixture into the mashed beans. Mix in bread crumbs until the mixture is sticky and holds together. Divide mixture into four patties.
  5. If making ahead, place patties into freezer and separate with wax paper.
  6. Patties will seem goopy at this point, I put them in the freezer for about 15-20 minutes to firm up a bit to make them easier to handle when cooking.
  7. If grilling, place patties on foil, and grill about 8 minutes on each side. If baking, place patties on baking sheet, and bake about 10 minutes on each side.
  8. Serve on iceberg lettuce rather than a bun not only to save calories but to add an even healthier component to this already healthy meal!
  9. Top with whatever condiments you like and enjoy!

Gluten-Free Bread Crumbs

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1 TBSP Italian Seasonings
  • 1 tsp low sodium salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Directions

  1. Place ingredients in a food processor and pulse on low until oats because a fine bread crumb consistency
Image

I served this with 2 slices of watermelon and a side salad to round out this perfectly good vegetarian gluten-free meal!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

2 responses to “Black Bean Burgers (Gluten-Free)”

  1. Ani D says :

    I made something similar the other night, but it was with sweet potatoes and quinoa! I have the recipe on my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

