Super Simple Dinner for 2

My husband has been asking me to make him fish for the last 3 weeks.  I’m not a huge fish fan, so naturally I’ve been dragging my feet.

I finally gave in today and surprisingly enough, the dinner wasn’t half bad!  Well, my husband thought it was a knock out of the park and for how simply and healthy it is, I guess I’d have to agree with him.

I found two 6 oz. salmon filets at my local Kroger for just $6.29, added a bag of small red-skinned potatoes (I mean these potatoes were tiny) for just $0.97, and two broccoli crowns for $1.68 for a total of $8.97!  The entire dinner cost roughly $9.00 plus pantry staples such as butter, salt, pepper, garlic, etc.  A salmon dinner, complete with potatoes and broccoli for just $4.50 a person?!  Yea – I’ll take it!

From start to finish, the dinner took 1 hour and most of that was cook time for the potatoes.

Roasted Rosemary Garlic Potatoes
Ingredients

  1. 1/2 bag baby red-skinned potatoes
  2. 3 cloves of garlic
  3. 2 large sprigs fresh rosemary
  4. salt
  5. pepper
  6. onion powder
  7. olive oil
  8. non-stick cook spray

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray a glass baking dish with the non-stick cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Slice potatoes in half, lengthwise and place cut side up in the baking dish.
  3. Season potatoes with salt, pepper, and onion powder to your liking.  Then place the 3 garlic cloves and rosemary sprigs on top of your potatoes.  Lightly drizzle with olive oil.
  4. Roast in the oven for 60 minutes.

After your potatoes are in the oven, you can get started on your steamed broccoli.  Simply cut the broccoli to however you like it and place in your steamer basket or steamer and set aside.

Once your potatoes have been in the oven for 30 minutes, you can turn the steamer on.  The broccoli only takes about 20 minutes to cook.

Steamed Broccoli
Ingredients

  1. 2 broccoli crowns, cut into pieces
  2. 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  3. Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Steam broccoli for 18-20 minutes, or until desired texture
  2. Dump broccoli into a mixing bowl, add 1 tablespoon of butter divided into sections into the broccoli and gently toss so that the broccoli is evenly coated.
  3. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

Once you’ve gotten your potatoes and broccoli started, you can get started on your SUPER SIMPLE SALMON.  Seriously, it is only 2 major ingredients plus salt and pepper. Really, it’s that simple!

Super Simple Salmon
Ingredients

  1. 2 – 6 oz. Salmon Filet
  2. French’s Honey Dijon
  3. Salt & Pepper
  4. Non-stick cooking spray

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to a high broil and spray a glass baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Lightly salt and pepper both sides of your salmon filets.  Take your honey dijon and squeeze a dime-size amount of honey dijon onto the skin-side of your filet.  With a pastry brush, evenly spread out the honey dijon.
  3. Place the salmon into your glass baking dish skin-side down.  Then add another dime-sized amount of honey dijon onto the top and evenly spread it out with your pastry brush.
  4. Place your salmon in the oven for 10 (on the rare side) to 12 minutes (on the well done side).  When you pull out your salmon, your honey mustard will have created a nice crust on top.

Everything should be finished right about at the same time which is completely awesome!  Serve hot!

Image

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

3 responses to “Super Simple Dinner for 2”

  1. Myclogirl@aol.com says :

    Hey girl, can you e-mail to Dawn a couple of high protein low carb smoothies recipes? Is their such a thing ? love ya!

  2. Mariajose says :

    Love this! Just printed it out. Can’t wait to try it out 😀

Leave a Reply

