Challenge Update Week 8

Going away on vacation can be a challenge for anyone.  Going home to visit family is another story all by itself.  I LOVE my family and probably one of my favorite things about my parents is that they are PHENOMENAL cooks.  Every time I come home they fill their fridge with my favorite goodies and cook me all my favorite meals.

This past week I went home to Pennsylvania to spend the holidays with my family and let me tell you… in terms of my nutrition and exercise… it was a wash.  Christmas Eve tradition in my family is to go to church, come home, put on comfy clothes, eat finger foods, and open presents.  This year my mom and dad really outdid themselves.  Dad made THE BEST homemade buffalo wings, my mom made her amazing mini spring rolls, we had jumbo shrimp cocktail, Christmas cookies, and pigs in a blanket.  I totally overate because it was amazing.  Christmas Day wasn’t any better.  My dad fixed prime rib with salted baby red skinned potatoes, broccoli, and popovers.  It was to die for.  And although it sounds healthy, there was nothing healthy about any of it.  The rest of the week consisted of birthday cake, cupcakes, and Christmas cookies in between meals.  I tried to make good decisions when I could, but when I am home all bets are off.

On Saturday, my sister and I attended the first annual Cupcake Bowl in Bethlehem, PA.  Over 25 Cupcake Vendors participated and most had 2 or 3 cupcake flavors to taste and judge.  And although I didn’t eat entire cupcakes, in fact, my sister and I just shared a bite of each, I left with a huge bellyache and feeling quite sick to my stomach.  It sounded awesome in theory because anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE cupcakes but 40+ cupcakes is more than anyone should have to try in a day.

I left to come back home on Sunday and spent most of my day in the airport.  Trying to find healthy food in the airport is a challenge unto itself. I ended up getting an omelette and just eating a little over half of it and opting for a salad for lunch.  I made my husband walk up and down every terminal in the Cleveland airport just so I wasn’t sitting around during our 3 1/2 hour layover.

So although my diet was not perfect during my week long excursion, I did try to stay as active as possible.  While at home I attended 2 group fitness classes at Sweat Like a Girl Studio in Allentown, PA.  I also took advantage of my sister’s treadmill and elliptical, using both on separate days.  So I was home for 6 days and had 2 days of travel time. I was able to work out 4 of the six days I was home and tried to walk as much as possible on both travel days in the airport, taking the stairs when I could, and walked laps when there was time.  And while I know there is no exercise that can outdo a bad diet, I feel like my bad eating and my exercise neutralized each other.

Week 9 will hopefully be a little more productive in terms of eating than Week 8.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

One response to “Challenge Update Week 8”

  1. When Harry Met Celery says :

    Oh wow! This is so cool! Need to know what happens next week 🙂 When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some snacky oat bars and would love to know what you think. Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

