Willpower and Grace at Sweat Like a Girl

Willpower and Grace…. reading that class name, I had no idea what to expect.  Even after reading the class description, I wasn’t all that enthusiastic about trying it out.  But it was at a good time slot and I really liked the instructor, so I decided to give it a try.  I’m really glad I did.  It just goes to show you that you should never judge a book by it’s title.

This class was nothing like I’ve ever taken before.  We started out with some basic deep breaths in and out, reaching and stretching to warm up the body, and then we moved into a squat series.  We did so many stinking squats that my legs were screaming 10 minutes into class and I wasn’t sure I was going to survive.  The next fifty minutes of class kind of whirled by in me in a massive blur with touches of dance, weight training, piloxing, balance, and plyometrics mixed in.  All I knew was that I needed a water break but there was no break to come (I had to make my own because I was DYING of thirst).  The instructor kept encouraging us to take higher options (actually she gave higher options and I just opted to make my own lower options) but I had made the mistake of eating a HUGE diner style breakfast and my belly was not feeling all the jumping around.  I was thinking better safe than sorry, so I listened to my body.  I thought it would be a better lasting impression if I took lower options than to blow chunks all over the group fitness floor.  If I can remember correctly we began with a squat series, moved into front kicks, picked up some dumbbells and worked on our biceps (which seemed like forever), and we did a little dance break to shake out the muscles.  Then we moved into a piloxing series with hamstring curls which eventually turned into roundhouse kicks.  We added on alternating front kicks with roundhouse, working both sides of course.  She worked in some jabs, upper cuts, and speed bag work.  If I wasn’t tired enough, we headed into some dips and abs exercises before bringing it back to the floor with some more squats and dance moves.  She brought in some traditional aerobic exercises like repeater knees but added in some yoga balance poses for fun.  For the grand finale we alternated 20 second burpees with 20 second weighted squat jumps (I opted for the no-weight squat jump).  When she told us to take it to the mats I knew the end was near.  Embracing this little “break”, I headed into plank position.  By this time my entire body was shaking but I was determined to take the higher plank hold option.  Then she had to throw in the, “okay – lift one leg off the floor… hold it… now bring it up to your side and back.  Don’t let that foot touch the floor!”  And all I could think to myself was, “Gosh, do I sound like that when I teach class because I want to kill her!”  (Of course I meant that in a totally nice way!)  So of course I just held plank position while everyone else was at leasting trying to do what she said.  I know my body, and my form would have sucked, so I stayed in plank with good form like a good student should.  We then went to our backs and worked on our lower abdominals and just when I was about ready to call it quits myself, class was over.

I’m definitely leaving Willpower and Grace with a love-hate relationship.  I was hating it when I was taking it, but how I felt when it was over was pure love.  I loved the feeling I had when it was over.  I loved how I felt like I got a great workout.  And I loved that it was like no other class I had taken before.  I can’t wait to take some of the things I’ve learned today and take it back to my own classes that I teach and I can’t wait to come back to Allentown, PA and take it again!

If you are in the area – check out Sweat Like a Girl and try your first class for FREE!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

