Challenge Update Week 7

7 weeks into my challenge and I should be good to go.  I’ve been doing this long enough that drinking my shakes and getting my workouts in should be like second nature, but let’s face it, December is a CRAZY month.  These last two weeks have been super crazy and it’s all I can do to get an extra walk in the day so I can make sure I’m keeping active.

December is just super crazy with work parties, family and friend get togethers, Christmas shopping, meetings, and just every day life happenings.  I have been lucky to make it to the gym 4 days a week the last two weeks and my diet the last week has been less than stellar.  Every single day this week my students have come into my classroom bearing gifts of cookies, chocolate covered pretzels, Belgium chocolate, chocolate truffles, and fudge.  They sit there and look at you expectantly, waiting for you to take a bite of the goodies they brought you.  And of course I thought a cookie and a cookie there wasn’t going to be too bad, but let me tell you… they add up and soon I’m eating cookies, mini cupcakes, and truffles like they are going out of style.  Not to mention, my principal and assistant principal cooked us breakfast and it happened to be pancakes (my favorite!) and theses AWESOME sausage pinwheels…. so again I had like 7 of them… my will power has been non-existant these past few days and I really need to reign it in.

This was evident tonight after I decided to take advantage of my sister’s treadmill in her basement.  Since coming home to visit for Christmas, I’ve indulged in birthday cake (numerous times a day), iced cookies, Christmas cookies, spring rolls, chicken wings, and things I don’t normally eat on a regular basis.  After presents were opened and the kids were in bed, I decided to go for a quick 3 mile run…. boy, was that rough.  It’s amazing how poor you feel when you are trying to complete a simple run that you’ve done hundreds of times.  I can totally tell that I have not been putting good fuel into my body this last week and now I’m paying the price.  I feel tired, slow, and lethargic.  It’s time to turn it around and get it back on track.  I’ve had my fun, I’ve strayed from my plan, and now it’s time to get serious.  I will not be one of those people who say, well I’ve already blown it, I might as well have my fun until the New Year and start over.  My resolution is to get back on track and my resolution starts now.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

