Outdoor Fun!

Climbing up the rope ladder.

It’s not every day that you get 60 degree weather in the middle of November, so my husband and I took advantage of it.  As part of my 90-day challenge, I’m trying to do some type of physical activity every day.  Well today was a perfect example that you don’t have to go to the gym or go for a run to be active.  Today was all about outdoor adventure on a high ropes and zip-lining course through Go Ape!

We spent about 3 hours in this outdoor, tree-climbing adventure.  You really test your upper body, core, and leg strength as you climb rope ladders, step through loose rings suspended from the trees, scale cargo nets, and zip-line through the beautiful trees.  It was so much fun just to go through the course without any expectations and see what your body and mind are capable of.

Complete with 5 sites and endless courses in-between, you are constantly challenging your body to do “not your average” activity.  There were different levels from beginner to advance – meaning you could hold on as much as you’d like or you could try to do most of it no-handed.  Mind you, there are no safety nets below, you are just strapped to a zip line with a harness, hoping that your line and your harness are fully intact with each other at all times.  My husband did most of it no-handed, because he likes to show off like that.  I did what I could, completed what I thought I could no-handed, and used my hands when I wasn’t so sure of my balance.  As you are high in the trees, trying to cross from one site to the next, all you are thinking is, “Don’t look down.”

My favorite part of the adventure was the Tarzan swing, where you were hooked by your harness from a hanging strap.  You just held on and swung right into a cargo net.  Super fun but a little scary for a first timer.  You run straight into a cargo net, and then slowly return and you have to pull yourself up to the tree landing which is hard upper body work (especially when you are sore from yesterday’s workout).

All in all – this was such a fun experience and I highly suggest trying it out if you have something like this in your area.  It is great for a date adventure, family outing, or even a team building activity for your work.  But the main thing is: get out in nature, get active, get healthy, and have some fun!

Walking across the swinging X’s. Don’t let that smile fool you – it’s harder than it looks!

Look, Mom, no hands!

This is one of those where I didn’t need both hands, but I couldn’t do no hands either.

In deep concentration…

Pausing for a picture

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

One response to “Outdoor Fun!”

  1. Sylvie says :

    It’s the best way to stay in shape easily! Have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

