Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That

This morning I woke up feeling like crap sick: clogged nose, burning eyes, sneezing, coughing, the works.  You know that commercial where the guy’s head looks like a giant nose?  Yea – that’s me.  I felt it coming on two days after I started my new 90-Day Challenge.  I decided to put my big girl pants on muster up enough energy to complete an On Demand workout video at home on Wednesday because I was determined to keep up with my challenge.

Yesterday though, I woke up feeling icky under the weather.  But being the professional person that I am, I made myself presentable for work (although I really, really wanted to stay home) and headed off to school.   All throughout the day I was having a discussion mental war with myself.  First, I would tell myself that I needed to teach Zumba because people depended on me.  They looked forward to coming to my class.  Plus, I was only two days into my challenge and I couldn’t be skipping out on workouts already.  Then my practical side would chime in and say that I needed to rest my body so I could get better.  I would never get as much out of my workout being sick so I should just rest.  As you can see, it was a mentally exhausting day!  On my way to tutoring, I talked with my best friend who so wonderfully volunteered to sub for me should I need it.  I told her I was going to try to suck it up stick it out and make it to class, but I would text her after to let her know either way.

As I sat through tutoring, I could feel myself becoming tired, exhausted, achy,weak,  run-down.  There was no way I was in any shape or form to be hopping and bopping or grooving getting down on the group fitness floor.  I texted my friend and let her know I needed her to step in.  I am so thankful for her.

Sometimes you just need to listen to your body.  Rest is often the best medicine you need.  We get sick because our immune system has been compromised.  How do our immune systems get compromised? Lack of sleep, poor eating habits, not washing your hands, and stress.  Well – I could show you my poor chapped and dry hands to prove that I probably OVER WASH my hands, but I haven’t been sleeping well this past week and I’m always super stressed.  Obviously not a good combination and something I need to work on.  Who has time to be sick?  Ain’t nobody got time for that!

So – I’m four days into my challenge and I’ve already missed 2 days of physical exercise.  Does this mean I just throw in the towel and give up?  NO!  I rest, take my Vi-Pak and Vimmunity, and get better!  Once I’m feeling better, I plan on jumping right back into my challenge with more vigor and tenacity.  Something like a cold is not going to keep me from hitting my goal even if I have to tack on two extra days to ensure 90 days of physical activity.

Tags: , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

