Active Challenge – Day 1 Update

I wake up from a restful night’s sleep, roll over and look at my phone and what does it say?  7:40 AM?!  WTH?!  I am supposed to be AT WORK AT 7:40 AM not wake up then!  Needless to say that was NOT how I wanted to start my first day of my 90 Day Challenge.  Did I let this stop me though?  ABSOLUTELY NOT!  I seriously got ready in 20 minutes (a record time for I think), I threw my AM Vi-pak, 2 nutra-cookies, 2 shaker cups, my Vi-Shape protein mix, and a half gallon of light vanilla soy milk in my bag.  Yes, you read that right, a half gallon of soy milk went into my teacher bag this morning.  I was not going to let this minor set back deter me of my goals.  There was no going through a fast food drive through simply because I couldn’t blend a fancy shake this morning.  I was going old school – straight up milk and protein.

I had my 12-oz. breakfast shake as I sped along to work (in between hysteric sobs and a phone call to my dad crying about how I was late for school).  I am happy to say that this seriously kept me full until lunch at noon in which I shook up another shake.  All the while, this mountain of candy corn was staring me in the face as it sat upon my desk begging me to eat it.  I stayed strong and did not succumb to the temptations of the candy corn.

At the end of the day I had a staff meeting.  Staff meetings are great because there are a plethora of snacks just waiting for us to indulge: cookies, pretzels, brownies, fruit and dip, veggies and dip, soda, and candy galore.  Did I partake in this joyful eating of crap?  No!  I shook up a Vi-Defy drink and came down with a chocolate chip nutra-cookie so I could also eat a cookie with my fellow teachers.  However, my cookie had 9 grams of protein, 5 grams of fiber, and only 5 grams of fat.  I’m sure the gooey chocolate brownies and cookies they were munching on didn’t have all that good for you bonus stuff in it.  By 4:00 PM I was feeling good about my choices.

Came home, changed, and new I had about an hour of free time before I had to get to my household duties.  So instead of sitting in front of the TV to relax, I grabbed another nutra-cookie, laced up my shoes, and took the dog for a mile walk around the neighborhood.  Once I dropped him off at the house, I ran back out for another 2 mile run on my own, and finished up my exercise with 50 crunches.

Although I had a minor hiccup to the start of my day, all in all it was a great first day on my new Active Challenge.

Breakfast – 12-oz. Light Vanilla Soy milk Vi-Shape Protein Shake & AM Vi-Pak
Lunch – 12-oz. Light Vanilla Soy milk Vi-Shape Protein Shake
Snack – Chocolate Chip Nutra-Cookie & Vi-Defy Drink Mix
Snack – Chocolate Chip Nutra-Cookie
Dinner – Wild Rice and Chicken Soup & PM Vi-Pak
60 Minute Activity – 1 mile walk, 2 mile run, 50 crunches

Tags: , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

