Tales of Inspiration #3 – The Hobby Hoarder aka my friend, Libs

Libs and I go way back.  I’m talking back to when I was a junior/senior in high school and she was in middle school (yea that long ago and yes, I’m that much older than she is).  As I graduated from high school we seemed to go our separate ways but we recently reconnected and I was amazed at what a remarkable young lady she has grown into.  Living in New York City, she is on a quest to become a professional amateur comedian.  She has taken it upon herself to complete 52 hobbies in 52 weeks ON TOP of her regular job.  If that doesn’t inspire you to get up and get moving, here is just a small list of hobbies she has tried so far: Rock Climbing, Beat Boxing, Paddle Boarding, Ventriloquism, Stilt Walking, Breakdancing, Flash Mobbing, Stunt Jumping, Ziplining, Subway Performing, Unicycle Riding, (deep breath), Knife Throwing, Plane Flying, Birdhouse Making, Jedi Training, Archery, Modern Dance, Beer Brewing, Steel Pan Drumming, Rifle Shooting, Samurai Sword Fighting, Speed Dating, Boxing, Karate, Hip-Hop Dancing, and Pole Dancing.  But my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE hobby that she has hoarded has by far been the Kangoo Nation Class.  I had never seen anything like it!  This particular class she had taken was a Kangoo Hopping Hip-Hop Dance class.  To get the full effect, you’ll have to watch her video.  It looks like so much fun!  

Her video and narrative inspired me to look it up online and see if I could find something local that I could try out for myself.  Unfortunately, where I live it is not offered anywhere.  Her solution for me?  Go get certified and start my own classes.  I just might have to take her up on it because it looks like so much fun.  Who knows? I might start a Kangoo Nation Class craze here in the midwest.

Click here to watch her video and read her inspiring story: The Hobby Hoarder Gets Surprised!

Libs showing off her Kangoo shoes… where can I get a pair of my own?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

