What to Eat to get Abs?

Everyone knows that abs are made in the kitchen.  We can do sit ups and crunches until we are blue in the face, but unless we lose the fat that surrounds them, we will never get to see the fruits of our labor.  I stumbled across this blog from a post on my friend’s Facebook page.  I found it to be quite informative and it made me feel better about myself.  We all have different parts of our bodies that just look stellar.  My friend (whose Facebook page I found this article on) has FABULOUS arms.  Her arms just are seriously cut, while mine are not.  But, my hamstrings stick out like nobody’s business and I don’t have to be super lean to have them get that way.  They just are.  So while we might not all have stellar abs (goodness knows mine are a work in progress) it’s important to focus on the parts of your body that DO look good and celebrate them.  We are all fabulous in our own ways, and never lose sight on that!

Here is a preview of her article:

“I always hear and KNOW “abs are made in the kitchen”… however I would like to know specifically what TO or NOT eat to get those abs. I’m down 70+ lbs but still carry a lot of belly fat. Thanks in advance.” – Monique Salmond

Hey Monique!

Great question!  Probably the million dollar question in fact! =)  First off, congrats on your amazing success!  Losing 70+ lbs is amazing!  Clearly you have the dedication required to get the abs you so desire, and I am going to assume anyone else reading this does as well.  So now that that is assumed…let’s get to the nitty gritty stuff here and discuss what may be causing you to hold excess belly fat (surprisingly enough… it may be more than just your nutrition!)

1. The amount of body fat you carried in the past – Unfortunately, our body is pretty good at creating new fat cells and filling them up, which is exactly what happens when your body’s fat cells get full.  You start creating new fat cells and filling them up, allowing your body to gain more and more body fat.  However, when you lose body fat and those fat cells empty out, they take approximately 10 years to die according to my good friend, Kiefer of Dangerously Hardcore.  In the meantime, your body is doing its darndest to fill those fat cells back up.  So if you’ve carried a decent amount of body fat in the past, for at least a while, your body is working against you trying to fill those empty fat cells back up.  That’s not to say that you can’t ever be really lean, but you will have to maintain a certain level of leanness for quite a while before your empty fat cells die, and before your body considers your new, leaner body to be homeostasis.

Read the rest of her article here: Weekly Reader Question #1: What to Eat to get Abs?

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

