Big Fat Blueberry Muffins

Big Fat Blueberry Muffins (from Hungry Girl’s 200 Recipes under 200 Calories Cookbook)
Makes 6 Muffins
137 Calories Per Muffin
2.25g Fat, 26.5g Carbs, 3g Fiber, 4g Protein

Ingredients
1 cup Whole-Wheat Flour
1 cup Fresh Blueberries
1/2 cup light vanilla soymilk (or almond milk)
1/4 cup Sugar Free Pancake Syrup
1/4 cup Liquid Egg Substitute
1/4 cup Splenda, granulated
3 TBSP brown sugar, not packed
2 TBSP light whipped butter or buttery spread
2 TBSP no-sugar added applesauce (get Mott’s Blueberry delight if you can find it)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, Splenda, brown sugar, baking powder, and salt.

3. In a large mixing bowl, combine soymilk, syrup, egg substitute, butter, applesauce, and vanilla extract.  Using an electric mixer or whisk, mix until thoroughly blended.  Do not worry if butter bits do not break up completely.

4. Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until completely blended.  Then fold in the blueberries.

5. Line a 6-cup muffin pan with baking liners or spray with non-stick spray.  Evenly distribute the batter among the 6 baking cups.

6. Bake in the oven for about 22 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Enjoy!

The best part about this recipe is that it only makes 6 muffins which is perfect for my husband and myself.  Baking twelve muffins would be entirely too much for just the two of us and they would go bad before we could eat them all.  Now I don’t feel like I have to eat 2 muffins a day in order not to be wasteful.  I can just enjoy one and know that it’s guilt-free!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

5 responses to “Big Fat Blueberry Muffins”

  1. Gail says :

    Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn. That is a very smartly written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your useful information.
    Thank you for the post. I will certainly return.

  2. Salvatore says :

    Hello, i feel that i noticed you visited my weblog thus i got here to return the favor?
    .I am trying to find things to improve my website!
    I assume its good enough to make use of a few of your ideas!
    !

  3. Delila says :

    Having read this I thought it was really informative. I appreciate you spending some
    time and effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  4. Remember Me Key kaufen says :

    After I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox
    and from now on whenever a comment is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment.
    Is there a way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

