Whole Wheat Baked Turkey Penne

My own personal recipe
Makes 6 servings
479 Calories Per Serving (about 1 cup)
12g Fat, 64.4g Carbs, 8.3g Fiber, 27.2g Protein

Ingredients
1 box Whole Wheat Penne
1 lb. lean ground turkey (I used HarvestLand)
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 yellow bell pepper, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
3 tbsp dried onions (or 1/2 yellow onion, chopped)
3 oz. can sliced mushrooms
2/3 cup low-moisture, part-skim mozzarella, shredded
1 jar favorite pasta sauce (I used Ragu Chunky Garden Vegetable)

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray and 13×9 glass baking dish with non-stick spray and set aside.

2. Cook pasta according to box directions.  Meanwhile, spray a large skillet with non-stick spray.  Cook the garlic with the turkey until turkey is no longer pink.  Drain the fat.

3. In the same pan with the turkey, add the bell peppers and onions.  Cook for another 2 minutes.  Pour in the pasta sauce and add the sliced mushrooms.  Stir.

4.  Add in the drained pasta and evenly coat the pasta with the sauce.  Sprinkle in 1/3 cup of shredded cheese and combine thoroughly.

5. Pour the contents into the glass baking dish and sprinkle the remaining 1/3 cup of shredded cheese on top.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

6. Serve warm and enjoy!
I love this recipe!  It is perfect for a plan ahead meal because all you have to do is take it out of the refrigerator and bake it until it is heated through.  You can easily make this vegetarian by omitting the turkey and substituting ground soy crumbles or not putting any meat or meat substitute in there at all.  I served this dish with a whole grain roll and it was perfect.  I was full after just one serving and have plenty of leftovers to serve my husband and I for the next 2 days.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

One response to “Whole Wheat Baked Turkey Penne”

  1. cht7 says :

    Yum! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

