Fitness is not one size fits all

Too many times we get caught up watching infomercials about some magic pill, shake, or program that will make all of our fitness dreams come true.  The problem with that? Health and fitness is not one size fits all.  You know that saying, different strokes for different folks?  It works that way in the fitness world as well.

For example, my best friend eats 2-3 servings of green veggies, a serving of colorful veggies, and a lean protein at every meal.  She lifts heavy 4 times a week and meets with a personal trainer 2-3 times a week as well.  Her goal is to get strong and have beautifully sculpted muscles.  Me on the other hand, I eat lots of carbs (fruit, bread, and pasta to be exact).  I eat every 2-3 hours and I run 4 days a week.  My goal: to run a half marathon in September.  Our goals are completely different and therefore  our eating and fitness regiment should be different as well.

The point of this blog – to offer your different stories of success to show you that there is more than one path to achieve your goal.  Maybe you will find a story that inspires you to begin your fitness journey or perhaps you might find a story that motivates you to continue.  Either way, these are my friends and I hope you celebrate their successes as much as I do.

Tags: , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

