Color Run 5K: The Happiest Run on Earth

Getting paint thrown on you while running a 5K?  Check.  That is one thing I can now check off my bucket list.

This past weekend, I had the opportunity to run in the happiest run on Earth: The Color Run.  I was a bit skeptical about it at first, but the more people were talking about it, and the more I watched the videos on it, the more excited I was to run in it.  By the time I made up my mind to run in it, it was already sold out.  Luckily the stars aligned and I found someone who wanted to give up their ticket so I was able to purchase a spot last minute.

This is definitely the kind of run you want to do with friends.  So I met up with a couple of friends from the gym, we got dressed up in matching outfits (tutus, white tanks, and sweatbands) and headed off to the race.  When we arrived at the race, you could feel the excitement in the air. Everyone was dressed in white shirts.  Some had on tutus, others in costumes, some people had matching group gear, and so forth.  There was a lot of spirit, that’s for sure.

After a few photo ops in our tutus, we headed over to the start line, took a few more photos, and just grooved to the music until it was time.  In our race packets, we were given packets of paint to throw after the race.  Some people were antsy to get painted, so they opened their packets early and decided to throw them at each other before the race started.  I guess you do what it takes to keep you entertained.

Finally it was time to start.  As we ran through the course, we were hit with 4 different colors of paint: orange, blue, yellow, and red.  The paint wasn’t liquid, however, it was a powdered paint that stuck to your skin and clothes and was non-toxic.  I really enjoyed watching people’s paint methods.  Some just stood in front of the volunteers to get a lot of paint.  Others ran quickly through the clouds of paint to get a light dusting, and others rolled on the ground to get covered in the excess paint that fell to the ground.  My personal strategy – twirl like a ballerina for even coverage.  Didn’t really work that well, but hey – I had fun doing it.

Finally we made it to the Finish Line, took some photos, and made our way to the large crowd by the stage.  Music was pumping, dance-offs were happening, and paint was flying.  You could totally feel the joy in the air.  Maybe that’s why it’s called the Happiest Run on Earth.

Walking towards the Color Village before the race

Some guy pouring his paint on his friends before the race begins… some people just can’t wait

Heading towards the blue paint station… you could see the clouds of paint before you even got there!

Getting painted blue

Patty showing off her red

Finished!!!

Anna painting Patty with “yellow” paint (at least that’s what the packet said, sure didn’t look like yellow to me)

Look at all the color! (it’s a bit blurry, I know)

The Color Run – the most fun I’ve had a race ever!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Food4Thought

I am no fitness expert. I am simply someone who has found joy in fitness and nutrition. I am a certified group fitness instructor. I’ve been teaching at the local health club for about 3 years now. While Zumba was my first love, I have since added Total Conditioning, Bodyworks plus Abs, and Core to my repertoire of classes. I work with a personal trainer to help me reach my fitness goals that I cannot obtain through group fitness alone. This year I ran my first 5K and plan to run my first 10K in March. To further my knowledge in the fitness realm, I have begun reading Strong Women Stay Slim, New Rules for Lifting Abs, and The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. On my list to read next is Wheat Belly. I am always looking for new ways to further my education and knowledge to better serve the members that take my group fitness classes. Lately, I have started tinkering with recipes, buying healthy cookbooks, and finding easy, tasty, and healthy foods to make. Like I mentioned earlier, I am by no means an expert, but the things I share with you have helped me tremendously with my fitness journey. It is my hope that with these easy tips and recipes, that you too can make these tiny steps and see big positive changes in your life.

Leave a Reply

